Chocolate Avocado Pudding

Chocolate Avocado Pudding_vegan gluten free low carb.png-001

I have to say, I am borderline obsessed with avocados. I spread them on my sandwiches, top my salads with them, and mix them up as guacamole. And aside from tasting great, avocados are a fantastic source of healthy fats, dietary fiber, potassium, and vitamins C and B-6. Plus, they are low carb. Bonus.

Anyway, I’ve recently heard of people baking sweets with avocados and thought I would give it a try. Keeping it simple for my first attempt, I mixed up a quick chocolate pudding as an afternoon snack. Honestly, I can’t believe I didn’t do this sooner. The texture of the avocados whips up just like any old pudding, smooth and creamy. If I didn’t make this myself, I would’ve  never guessed it wasn’t the real thing.

This recipe is quick, takes only a few ingredients, hits all those dietary requirements (vegan, gluten free, low carb), and is the perfect treat to assuage any sweet tooth. Enjoy.

Chocolate Avocado PuddingMakes about six 1/2 cup servings

Supplies:

  • Food processor or blender
  • Bowl with lid

Ingredients:

  • 2 large avocados, pitted and scooped
  • 1/2 cup raw cacao or unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup cashew, almond, or coconut milk
  • 1/3 cup honey or maple syrup (for a vegan option)
  • 1/8 tsp coarse salt

Directions:

  • Place all ingredients into a food processor and blend until smooth, periodically scrape down sides
  • Transfer into a container and chill for 30 minutes before serving
  • Store in airtight container in the refrigerator for up to a week

Download Recipe

As with any pudding recipe, additions are always a good idea. A few drops of vanilla or mint extract will add depth to the flavor, coconut whipped cream is always a fantastic choice for toppings, or mix it up with some fresh berries. As a bonus, because it is supposed to be 100 frickin’ degrees here on Saturday, put some pudding into a few dixie cups, stick a popsicle stick in the middle, and freeze them for a few hours. Voila! Fudgsicles!

Cheers,

Amy

Leave a Reply

