Breakfast Skillet: Sweet Potato, Turkey, and Kale Hash

img_4538

I’m a lazy breakfast maker. I know it’s the most important meal of the day but I just can’t bring myself to make food before I’m completely coherent, which usually takes until about noon. This past weekend we took our nephew out to brunch at one of our favorite St Paul spots for “Tunes ‘n ‘Toons” (the Turf Club, for those curious) where I enjoyed an amazing sweet potato hash. When we got home I immediately scoured Pinterest to find a related recipe.

To my dismay, there were some that got close but none the matched it entirely. So, I decided to try and whip up my own. I spent Sunday evening pre-cooking the hash to keep in the fridge for breakfast all week. The only thing I will need to do in the mornings is heat up a portion of the hash and fry up an egg. I think I can handle that. Here is what I came up with:

Sweet Potato, Turkey and Kale Hashserves six

*You can cook this recipe in advance and make an egg each morning or serve it up for your entire family for brunch

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups sweet potato, peeled and cubed into 1/2 inch dice
  • 1 pound turkey sausage
  • 2 red peppers, cubed into 1/2 inch dice
  • 1 Vidalia onion, chopped
  • 3 cups kale, roughly chopped
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 12 eggs (cooked as needed)

Instructions:

  • In preheated cast iron skillet sauté onions until they begin to caramelize
  • Add turkey sausage and brown over medium heat until cooked through
  • With a slotted spoon, remove cooked sausage and onions
  • Add enough olive oil to cover the entire bottom of your skillet
  • Carefully add diced sweet potato and toss to coat with oil
  • Sprinkle pieces with salt and pepper
  • Cook the sweet potato pieces without stirring until the bottoms begin to brown, then stir and cook until the pieces begin to soften
  • Add diced red peppers and cook until they begin to soften
  • Add sausage back to skillet
  • Top the mixture with chopped kale, do not stir, cover with lid and let steam until kale begins to wilt
  • Remove lid and mix all ingredients
  • Fry your eggs to desired consistency (I highly recommend sunny side up)

Click here to download the recipe

Plate up the hash and top with your eggs. This recipe is paleo friendly but can easily be adapted for vegans and vegetarians. Store the hash mixture in your refrigerator, in a sealed container, for up to a week. I promise, this recipe will quickly become a favorite and will help you start your day off on a healthy foot.

Cheers,

Amy

Leave a Reply

