Carry-On Travel Essentials

Edited

It’s spring break season and I am excited to head down to Savannah, GA with Travis for a long weekend. I visited Savannah two summers ago with my cousin for a girls weekend and absolutely fell in love with the city (next week I will be writing a post on all the wonderful things to do in Savannah so stay tuned).

With traveling comes packing. I wouldn’t say I travel a lot, but I’ve done it enough to know I am a chronic over-packer. I get nervous I will want something and not have it so I pack my suitcase with as many ‘maybe’ items as I can rationalize and it makes for miserable travel. Nothing sucks more than paying baggage fees, lugging heaving duffel bags through the airport terminal as you run to catch your flight and carrying an abundance of bags up and down stairs. So, I declare: No more!

As it turns out, I never need as many things as I think I do, and not once have I wished I had something above and beyond my day-to-day basics. So, today I purchased a teeny, tiny carry-on luggage set and have challenged myself to work with the available space. I have narrowed my packing list to my absolute essentials.  Here’s what I’ve got:

Do Not Forget Items:

  • Passport
  • Driver’s license
  • Boarding pass
  • Hotel reservations
  • Cash
  • Credit card
  • Cell Phone

Clothing

  • Undergarments
  • 2 pair of jeans
  • 1 pairs of shorts
  • 3 t-shirts
  • 1 dress
  • 1 cardigan
  • Sandals
  • Light jacket
  • Small jewelry bag

Extras:

  • Athletic leggings
  • Cotton t-shirt
  • Sports bra
  • Running shoes

Sleeping Essentials

  • Pajamas
  • Lavender eye pillow
  • Book light
  • Noise machine

Beauty Bag

  • Shampoo, conditioner & leave-in conditioner
  • Comb
  • Mini loofa & body wash
  • Toothbrush, toothpaste, floss & mouthwash
  • Face wash, facial toner & face cream
  • Foundation, make-up sponge, blush, powder brush, eyeliner & tinted lip balm
  • Deodorant
  • Bobby-pins & hair ties
  • Tweezers, nail clippers & disposable razor

Health Bag

  • Prescriptions, Ibuprofen & antacids
  • Femcare products
  • Lavender oil
  • Kleenex, hand sanitizer, lotion & lip balm
  • Gum

Electronics

  • Laptop
  • iphone, ipad & headphones
  • Camera & extra battery
  • Corresponding electronic chargers and cords
  • Travel charging pod

In-Flight Entertainment

  • Book
  • Notebook & pen

Miscellaneous Essentials

  • Snacks
  • Water bottle
  • Extra pair of glasses

You would be surprised at how few “things” you actually need when you travel. It was a little challenging to stop adding items to the pile, but I am pleased with where I landed (pun intended). Make sure all of your liquids are less than three ounces and in a clear plastic bag. Your packing list may be slightly different depending on where you are traveling but this list serves as a good place to start – if you are taking a beach vacation you can manage with much less! Do yourself a favor this travel season: pack light, it makes for much more efficient and less cumbersome travel. Happy spring break!

Cheers,

Amy

As a bonus, here is what I recommend you wear to the airport:

  • Leggings
  • Cotton t-shirt
  • Cardigan
  • Slip-on shoes
  • Extra wide scarf

Leave a Reply

