Ode to Crochet: Easy Peasy Color Block Scarf

IMG_0914 copy

The end of 2015 was a rough for me. Not in a dramatic sense, just overwhelmingly busy – which made the holiday break a perfect reprieve. Although I spent most of my break trying to recover from burn out I did find myself, at times, inspired to create something. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I love scarves. I didn’t want to take on a knitting project because I wasn’t sure how long my inspiration would last so I grabbed a few skeins of yarn from my stash, a crochet hook, chained a few stitches and just started crocheting.

I learned to crochet when I was a teenager and love its versatility and speed.  It is far more mindless than knitting because I don’t have to count or worry about “dropping” any stitches; I can just zone out and go. Today I am going to share with you the easiest crochet scarf you will ever make. You only need to know two simple crochet skills: how to chain and make a single crochet stitch.

Tools:

  • US H8/5.00 mm crochet hook
  • 4 skeins Vanna’s Choice yarn (worsted weight) – for this project I used one skein each of the following colors: pink, silver blue, silver gray and mustard
  • Darning needle

Pattern:

  1. With your first color, chain 40 stitches
  2. Work across each row in single crochet until you run out of yarn
  3. Join next color and continue in single crochet
  4. Repeat for all four colors
  5. Weave in ends

IMG_0917 copy

See? I told you. Amazingly easy. You don’t need to count, measure or worry about gauge. And even though this scarf can be made on autopilot, it is not void of function or beauty. When you finish, depending on how tightly you crochet, this scarf will be nearly 6 feet long and the thickness of the crochet stitches will keep you abundantly warm. Make one or make a bunch, either way, this easy peasy color block scarf is a great way to accessorize and stay warm.  Enjoy!

Cheers,

Amy

*Here are some other free patterns that might interest you: Extra Bulky Ribbed Scarf and Fingerless Mitts

**These scarves crochet up so quickly I thought about making four and then stitching them together to make a blanket…hmmm.

***As you may have noticed, Vanna’s Choice is my go-to yarn for most projects. That’s because even though it’s acrylic, it’s soft. Toss your finished scarf in the washer and dryer and the yarn will “bloom” to an even more luxurious feel at a very affordable price. I also want you to know that I am not a paid spokesperson for Vanna’s Choice yarn, I’m just a happy customer

One thought on “Ode to Crochet: Easy Peasy Color Block Scarf

  1. Pingback: Ode to Crochet: Stash Busting Striped Blanket | gray duck

Leave a Reply

