Fall Road Trip

Last week was midterm for me and that meant studying, finishing projects and stress.  Lots and lots of stress. In a daring act of self-preservation on a warm, sunny Tuesday afternoon we decided to take a little road trip.  October is a magical time of year here in Minnesota and, with our overbooked schedules, we decided we couldn’t bear missing out on its splendor.  So I put the books away, my husband took off work and we spent the day exploring one of the most quaint and charming corners of the state…well, er, technically we were in Wisconsin.

We took the highway down to Prescott and stopped at the Kitchen Table for a giant bloody Mary and a stack of pancakes the size of my head.  With full bellies we headed down the scenic bi-way through Maiden Rock, Stockholm, Lake Pepin, Nelson and Alma. We take this trip several times a year and if you live in the area, or find yourself here for a visit, I highly recommend you do, too.  You can get from St. Paul to Alma in an hour and a half but I suggest you take your time and meander:

IMG_0255

IMG_0269

IMG_0288

IMG_0297

IMG_0321

IMG_0338

IMG_0348

IMG_0350

IMG_0385

IMG_0392

IMG_0399

IMG_0403

IMG_0415

IMG_0424

IMG_0456-001

IMG_0479

IMG_0502  IMG_0521  IMG_0537

IMG_0553

IMG_0583

IMG_0601

IMG_0590

IMG_0620

IMG_0621

IMG_0627

IMG_0634

Life gets busy, I understand. But sometimes you just need to throw caution to the wind and feed your soul.  Wishing you a beautiful fall.

Cheers,

Amy

P.S.

When these cows saw me approach the fence to photograph them, literally all of them picked up their heads, stared at me and began to walk towards me in this freakishly slow, zombie-like saunter.  It creeped me out but we eventually became friends.

Leave a Reply

