Ode to Knitting: Fingerless Mitts

IMG_4124

It’s finally knitting season.  That magical time of year where I get to sit on my ass for hours at a time drinking coffee and snuggling up under layers of quilts.  I’ve tried year-round knitting but it’s hard to get in the mood to throw down on a sweater when it’s 100 degrees outside.  Alas, the weather has cooled and I am once again being called to all things yarn.  Through my tenure as a knitter I have learned to appreciate quality.  Invest in good needles.  I don’t knit as much as I used to so I tend to choose smaller projects (if I’m in the mood to bust through my yarn stash and make a blanket I’ll crochet it instead) – this affords me the luxury of investing in high quality yarn.  If you are a beginner to knitting you will quickly learn how frustrating and painful for your hands it can be to use sticky acrylic yarn and needles.  Trust me, go for quality over quantity.

Because my time is stretched so thin lately smaller projects also mean I will actually be able to finish something. One of the easiest yet most diverse knitting project I like to take on is the classic fingerless mitt.    I love fingerless mitts.  I’m a cold person by nature so I like to layer on cozy clothes in the winter but I can’t really wear mittens when I’m typing, scrolling through my phone or am engaging in the millions of other activities that require my hands.  Here is where the mitt comes to the rescue.  If they fit your hands well they will not interfere with your ability to work while wearing them and we all know how much it sucks to do anything with cold hands. 

If I knit them in plain old stockinette stitch I can finish a pair in an afternoon which makes me feel less guilty about binge watching Netflix.  You can fancy up  a basic pattern by adding cables, using a tonal yarn, make the mitts longer or shorter, adorn them with buttons – the possibilities are endless.  Today I am going to share with you my go-to basic knitting pattern for fingerless mitts.  You don’t need a lot of knitting skills to master this pattern but you should know how to knit in the round, cast on, knit, purl, increase and bind off (YouTube is a great place to find how-to videos).

Tools:

  • One set size 4 double pointed or circular needles
  • 1 hank or 50g of DK weight yarn – I used a cashmere/merino blend from Punta Yarns
  • Stitch markers
  • Darning needle

IMG_4118

Abbreviations:

CO – cast on

DPN – double pointed needle

K – knit

P – purl

PM – place marker

Slip – slip marker

BO – bind off

Pattern:

CO 32 stitches (if you are using DPNs distribute stitches evenly). Being careful not to twist your stitches, join and place marker.

Body:

  • Knit 2, purl 2 for 12 rows
  • Knit around for 40 rows

Make thumb gusset:

  • Knit for 16 stitches, pm, k1, pm, knit to end
  • Knit to marker, slip, m1, k1, m1, slip, knit to end
  • Knit around
  • Knit to maker, slip, m1, k3, m1, slip, knit to end 
  • Knit around
  • Knit to marker, slip, m1, k5, m1, slip, knit to end
  • Knit around
  • Knit to maker, slip, m1, k7, m1, slip, knit to end
  • Knit around
  • Knit to maker, slip, m1, k9, m1, slip, knit to end
  • Knit around
  • Knit to marker and remove, BO to next marker, remove, knit to end (you should be back to 32 stitches)

Palm:

  • Knit around for 6 rows
  • K2 P2 for 6 rows
  • BO
  • Weave in ends

**Repeat pattern for second mitt

IMG_4122

There is something soothing and meditative about knitting.  I’m not sure if it’s the clicking of the needles, the repetition or the circular movement of the stitches but when I’m knitting it’s pure bliss.  And now my hands will be warm.  Please enjoy!

Cheers,

Amy

2 thoughts on “Ode to Knitting: Fingerless Mitts

  1. Pingback: Ode to Knitting: Extra Bulky Ribbed Scarf | gray duck

  2. Pingback: Ode to Crochet: Easy Peasy Color Block Scarf | gray duck

Leave a Reply

