Healthy Breakfast Smoothie

IMG_3595

A little over six weeks ago I made a radical change to my lifestyle: I quit eating sugar.  And not just added sugar, I cut way, way back on foods that are metabolized as sugar (aka, carbs).  After doing some research and examining my own eating habits I realized I was getting too much sugar and not enough healthy fat.  So I quit sugar cold turkey and endured a week of what I can only imagine withdrawing from a hard core drug would be like – and I didn’t really eat that much sugar to begin with!  However, I put sugar in my morning coffee, I mixed my alcohol with soda, I substituted my bread for tortillas and often indulged in my biggest downfall of all: beer.  Looking back on my food journals there were times I would eat in the upwards of 200 carbs and 85 grams of sugar a day! But hey, I was staying within my caloric range and exercising regularly so I was healthy, right? Yeah, that’s probably why I constantly felt like garbage.

After I survived my sugar withdrawal I now eat less than 20 grams of carbs and 6 grams of sugar a day.  I also upped my fat intake from a measly 50 grams a day to over 130 grams a day.  To tell you the truth, I’ve never felt better.  I have more clarity of mind, I don’t have extreme food cravings and I rarely feel hungry.  An added bonus of eating like this is it’s almost impossible to go over my daily caloric allowance.  One of the reasons my appetite has stabilized is because I’m not having huge blood sugar dips and since my body no longer relies on sugar for energy it doesn’t crave it.

Anyway, I’m getting a little off of the point of this post.  Eating a high fat diet is a lot harder than it sounds, especially when you don’t eat processed foods.  The best way to supplement my fat intake is by adding butter, olive oil or coconut oil to everything!  However, I don’t particularly like the taste of coconut oil in foods I cook and the idea of slugging down a Tablespoon of coconut oil makes me want to gag.  So, the other morning I grabbed a few ingredients and threw together this yummy smoothie!

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups almond milk (or your milk of choice)
  • 2 Tbsp. full fat coconut milk
  • 1 Tbsp. coconut oil
  • ½ tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • ¼ tsp. cinnamon
  • 5 ice cubes

Directions:

Place all ingredients into blender and blend until smooth.  Sprinkle with cinnamon and enjoy!

This smoothie is filled with healthy fats and the flavor is fresh but subtle.  So, if you eat a diet rich in sugar this is most likely going to taste like water to you.  I would encourage you to try and enjoy it without adding sugar but I also understand that it’s a process.  When we eat foods laden with sugar our taste buds become dependent on it for flavor.  Still, I would suggest you give it a shot and allow yourself to taste the beautiful nuance of the food you eat!  Wishing you a healthy day!

Cheers,

Amy

Leave a Reply

