DIY Area Rug

IMG_0290-001

I love rage rugs: they offer amazing visual interest, a giant pop of color and are an eco-friendly way to use up fabric scraps.  Last fall I painted and redecorated our front porch and really wanted an area rag rug to nestle under the new daybed.  A quick Google search revealed how expensive a rag rug the size I needed would be and there was no way I was going to spend $100+ on a rag rug.  Instead, I headed over to the closest Big Box home improvement store and spent $25.  Here’s what I did:

1. Drive to store and find end cap with $2.99 18”x 30” rag rugs.

2. Grab enough rugs for my desired measurements.

3. Lay them out on the floor to choose coordinating colors.

**These rugs only come out when there is a surplus of fabric so check end caps regularly or ask management if they know when the next shipment will come in.

IMG_0206-001

Now comes a little bit of work, but not much.  You will need a scissors, some coordinating or contrasting scrap yarn, a darning needle and your rugs.

IMG_0209-001

4. Lay the rugs out how you want them

5. Tie the rugs together using your yarn.  It’s really that simple!

IMG_0258-001

IMG_0262-001

People tease me and like to call me “cheap” because I rarely pay full price for anything.  I like to find creative ways around blowing my financial load on an armchair, dining room table or in this case, an area rug.  I think the rug looks great, it serves its purpose and was a quarter the cost of the cheapest rug I could find online.  I call that ingenious! Get creative and get creating!

IMG_0289-001

Cheers,

Amy

2 thoughts on “DIY Area Rug

Leave a Reply

