Best Holiday Drink….Ever

photo 2

This past Saturday we hosted my entire extended family for Christmas.  It was a wonderful day filled with food, laughter, some extremely out-of-tune caroling and lots of adult beverage consumption!  I wanted to come up with a special holiday drink to offer our guests and one evening my husband threw together a few ingredients to create the best holiday drink ever.  My holiday gift to you is the recipe.  This adult beverage is creamy, spicy and wonderfully potent.  Ladies and gentlemen, I would like to introduce you to the Hot Nog!

Ingredients:

  • 2 ounces cinnamon whiskey (we use Fireball)
  • 2 ounces root beer
  • Egg nog

Supplies:

  • Wide mouth pint jar or any 16 ounce glass

Directions:

  1. Take you Mason jar and pack it full of ice
  2. Pour in your whiskey and root beer
  3. Top it off with egg nog and stir

You could “fancy” this drink up with some homemade whipped cream (use the recipe here and replace the lemon curd with vanilla extract), a sprinkle of freshly ground nutmeg and a cinnamon stick garnish.  Everyone who sipped this festive beverage was in awe of how wonderfully the flavors melded together.  To be honest, when he told me about it for the first time it sounded awful.  I am a huge egg nog fan and typically spike it with brandy but after I took my first sip of a Hot Nog I was sold.  Egg nog is a seasonal beverage so I would suggest running to your local market immediately to grab a carton or two!  Enjoy!

Cheers,

Amy

Leave a Reply

