12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 12

IMG_6448

Over the past 11 days I have shared with you some of my favorite handmade gifts to give and I hope you have enjoyed reading about them and (maybe) making a few for those on your gift list!  Today I am going to share with you my last and probably best gift to give.  It may seem simple, it is definitely inexpensive, a lot of us take it for granted and it will surely be very much appreciated by its recipient.  I am talking about giving the gift of your time.  During this busy holiday season time is a premium for many of us as we get ready to celebrate with our families and loved ones.  The thought of finding even more time to give may be daunting but I am a firm believer that unless we give of ourselves we will never be whole.

Human connection is growing very scarce in the lives of many of us as we scroll through our Facebook wall to check-up on people instead of meeting for coffee.  Now, don’t get me wrong, social media is a great tool that can enrich our lives in many, many ways.  But we must be careful with what we are sacrificing.  During a very passionate argument my husband and I were having the other day he very courageously called me out for being extraordinarily wrapped up in my own life lately.  I have spent a lot of time, energy and brain power preparing for the holidays, writing my blog, playing around on social media and generally filling up every ounce of free time we could been spending together.  I was lost in a bubble and am so thankful he was willing to snap me back into reality.  He made it very clear that although he wants to be supportive, I need to work better on finding a balance; he couldn’t have been more right.  I need to make sure that I give more of my time and attention to him rather than burning myself out and leaving nothing; that’s just not fair.

I’m sure there are many of us who have a few relationships we have been neglecting lately and in the spirit of giving let’s bundle up a little bit of our time to give as a gift.  We can give our time in big ways by volunteering or through small (but still meaningful) ways.  We can take time to stop and visit with our elderly neighbor, we can pick up the phone to chat with a friend we haven’t seen in a while, we can spend a few extra minutes on the way out the door to listen to a co-worker vent about a tough project they are working on, we can take our niece or nephew out to lunch, we can spend a little time before bed snuggled up reading a book with the kiddos or we can take a long walk holding the hand of our spouse while they tell us about their day.  It is in the giving of time where we rekindle the human connection that nourishes our lives.  So this holiday season when you are battling long lines and mall traffic be sure to balance that by spending time with the wonderful people in your life.  Wishing you and yours a very happy holiday season filled with love, laughter and merriment!

Cheers,

Amy

*If you want to give your time and a fun present I highly suggest perusing my list of handmade gifts to give!*

Lavender Spritz

Handmade Ornament

Framed Art

Baked Goods

Heating Pillow

Infused Vodka

Farmer’s Cheese

Holiday Soap

Chai Spice Mix

Painted Porcelain Mug

Jewelry Dish

One thought on “12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 12

  1. Pingback: Gift Giving Round-Up | gray duck

Leave a Reply

