12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 1

I love the holiday season! The music, the lights, the smell of fresh pine and fluffy white snow, holiday movies, hot cocoa, fresh-baked cookies and spending time with family all harken back to the holidays of my youth.  I have fond memories of decorating the tree with my mom and brother, watching Rudolph on TV (which is celebrating its 50th year!) or sitting cross-legged on the floor of my grandma and grandpa’s living room with my entire family while we open presents.  There is so much to be joyful for this time of year but there was always one thing I greatly disliked about the holidays: gift giving.

Let me be clear, I love giving gifts, but I hate the pressure of finding the “perfect” gift while fighting off rude shoppers and obscene holiday traffic.  After years of stressing and obsessing over what each and every person might want for a gift I said the-hell-with-it and started making handmade gifts.  I find immense joy in putting my creative energy towards something that people actually like receiving!  Whether it’s a baked good or a copy of a picture I took, people are way more receptive to the usability of the handmade gifts I give than they ever were to a store-bought trinket.  So, today I am kicking-off my 12 Days of Gift Giving where I will share with you people’s favorite handmade gifts to receive! The great thing is, you don’t need a lot of talent (or money) to make the gifts in my list – just a little bit of time and creativity.  Enjoy!

Today’s gift: Lavender spritz

IMG_0999

This seemingly simple (and inexpensive) spritz is probably the most “usable” gift you could ever give.  A natural antiseptic, antibacterial and anxiety reducer, lavender has a warm, floral scent that almost everyone finds soothing.  We go through several bottles of this in our home each month! You can use it as a clothes mister when you iron, as a natural perfume, to create a soothing environment for sleep by spraying your pillow and sheets, to freshen up the air, furniture or other non-washable household items, to treat minor burns or bug bites, to calm your nerves during yoga or meditation…and about a hundred other uses.

What you will need:

  • 3.5 oz Distilled water
  • 1 Tbsp. Vodka (optional)
  • 1 tsp. Lavender essential oil
  • 4oz amber or cobalt blue bottle with spray nozzle (check your local health foods store)
  • A small funnel

Directions:

In your clean bottle mix the water, vodka and essential oil (the vodka will help keep the oil and water from separating).  Screw on your cap and give it a good shake.  That’s it!

*It is important to use a dark-colored bottle so the sunlight doesn’t dilute the potency of the essential oil

Make this item gift-worthy by adding a label or ribbon and be sure to include with it a small list of uses. When I make this spritz for gifts I like to make it in big batches rather than one bottle at a time and store it in a cool, dry, dark place until I am in need of it.  I am sure you have at least one person on your list who could use a little aromatherapy this year so gather your supplies and get mixing!

Cheers,

Amy

13 thoughts on “12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 1

  1. Pingback: 12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 3 | gray duck

  2. Pingback: 12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 4 | gray duck

  3. Pingback: 12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 5 | gray duck

  4. Pingback: 12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 6 | gray duck

  5. Pingback: 12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 7 | gray duck

  6. Pingback: 12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 8 | gray duck

  7. Pingback: 12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 9 | gray duck

  8. Pingback: 12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 10 | gray duck

  9. Pingback: 12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 11 | gray duck

  10. Pingback: 12 Days of Gift Giving: Day 12 | gray duck

  11. Pingback: Gift Giving Round-Up | gray duck

  12. Pingback: Natural Approaches for Managing Sleeplessness | gray duck

  13. Pingback: Five Ways to Survive a Panic Attack | gray duck

Leave a Reply

