Magical Monarch

Monarch

Yesterday morning in the hot August heat I found myself chasing butterflies.  My husband and I were on our way to a local coffee shop for a caffeine fix before we headed south for some furniture shopping.  On the way we spotted a magnificent boulevard garden with dozens of Monarch’s nourishing themselves on the long, wispy purple flowers of the Meadow Blazing Star.  It was magical.  I quickly pulled the car to the side of the road and grabbed my phone so I could snap as many photos of this whimsical spectacle as I could.  I ran in circles around the boulevard to capture the orange and black wings of the spotted creatures from every possible angle.  I tried to rustle the flowers to encourage them to flutter around and entertain me. 

It was in that moment I realized what I was doing: I was interfering.  I was inserting myself into the beautiful migration of these delicate creatures because I wanted a great shot to upload to my Instagram page.  It was also in that moment I turned my phone off and shoved it deep into my pocket.  I decided right then and there that I would rather live in-the-moment with the butterflies than try to live out the moment later through images.  I moved gently through the flower patch and leaned in close to admire their spots and how the orange and black winked like eyes as their wings slowly opened and closed. I observed how they enthusiastically skimmed from flower to flower drinking in the nourishment of Mother Nature for their long journey south to Mexico.  I watched them flutter and play together like children in the school yard.  I was filled with absolute joy.  These tiny little creatures ignited so much happiness within me I could not stop giggling.   

Leave a Reply

